English Championship – Three Days To Go

Straight off the bat, having a comp after Christmas in a weight category sport isn’t nice. But you do what you need to in order to do what you love. You suck it up. I hate that Christmas is an excuse to eat your body weight in cheese, anyway (well, I’m not annoyed at all about cheese thing… much…)

Screen Shot 2016-01-27 at 21.47.39.png
Oh, baked Camembert

Having just done a comp on the 12th of December, my body weight wasn’t in terrible shape, so I just had to keep plugging away with minding my diet. Dave and I have a long-term plan to drop to the -53 kg category before the British Championships, so this is just a part of the journey to get there. We aren’t rushing!

For the English, our goal is to try make weight without water loading or losing superficial weight. All through January, the start of each new week of the same program I did before Christmas I have been a full kilo lighter than before Christmas. Which is exactly what I had aimed to do, so I’m very pleased with how it’s gone so far.

How the Taper’s Going

For some reason, I started the four week taper in worse shape than if I had continued to train over the break. My hips were tight as the inside of a rubber band ball, my calves buggered by all the dog walking at home. I generally felt over-rested, sluggish and not really with it.

Screen Shot 2016-01-27 at 21.51.40.png
I cant stop thinking about cheese so I’m going to make you think about cheese

I’m still having a few issues with my hips, but in all honesty the issues were potentially there before I decided to sit on my ass for 2 weeks doing nothing. I’ve have had physio, plenty of massages, and rolled pretty much the length of the height of Mt. Everest. Still not 100%, but it’s at least at a point where I can work with it.

Tight hips and a slow start aside: Shit the bed, I feel blooming strong at the moment! Squats and pulls flying up and down, down and up. All the percentages of my lifts for this program, despite it being the same types of workouts, have increased as I PB’ed during the last program. All in all the week-to-week training has gone superbly.

The only eScreen Shot 2016-01-24 at 21.44.52.pngxception is my weekend max out sessions. They’ve been pretty far off from what was planned. I can only attribute this to my training environment (not to make excuses, but I really do feed off those around me. Maxing out on your own with only the Spice Girls blaring isn’t ideal – and it showed during this build up). I haven’t hit any PBs, or even matched any in the run up to this competition.

No Fear. No Excuses.

Screen Shot 2016-01-27 at 21.41.49.png
#fistpump

However, because of how well the day-to-day training has gone, I’m not even slightly worried. Why? It’s obvious that with the higher percentages and greater consistency I’ve obtained during this build up, I need a good old taper week and the correct environment to facilitate my abilities.

Then I’m going to smash it. 

What’s Left This Week

This week is going to be a week of lots of chicken, baths, extra rolling, anti-inflammatories, and early nights. Oh, and of course X-Men films (because I love pretending to be a superhero).

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 21.31.39.png

 

Leave a Reply

