Your Gym Bag is Not a Hand Bag or a Man Bag

Essential weightlifting kit, including what you don’t need

With companies trying to sell you everything from fart de-stinkifying pants to pink chalk, what is it you REALLY need in your kit bags?

The essentials for a training bag:

  • A pair of lifting shoes – All sorts on the market but I personally choose Nike Romaleos and swear they are the best on the market for people with a regular/wide foot. Second place goes to the Adidas AdiPowers (my feet are too wide for them).
  • Chalk – You can’t guarantee every gym will have a full chalk bucket. I’ve shown up assuming there would be some, and had my session ruined because I didn’t bring my own. Simple little box in my bag for such occasions.
  • A pair of knee sleeves – Injury prevention is the number one priority for me. And as every lifting movement consists of a squat, I keep those knees wrapped up in a warm blanke– AKA neoprene knee sleeves. Rehband are the market leaders for a reason and provide a sleeve for everyday, day-in and day-out use. With a huge range of supports and thicker sleeves for some cushioning and oomph! #shamelessplug #rehbandfullpotential
  • A note pad or training diary – Always track your lifts, your bodyweight, and how you feel from session to session.
  • A pen – To write in your notebook or on yourself.
  • A lacrosse ball – Save yourself from failure, warm up and loosen up correctly for every session. So many problems can be solved by shoving a ball into your armpit/back you would not believe.
  • A theraband – Or a resistance band of your choice. I use mine to warm up my glutes and stretch my shoulders. Failing to prepare usually results in failing. Or so says my old school’s motto.
  • A water bottle – Stay hydrated!

The less essential:

What else I have in my bag

  • A form of caffeine – Coffee, pre-workout, caffeine powder (beware, drink only if you don’t want to shit ever again)
  • Trainers – Sometimes you have to do cardio, and no matter how cool I think I look going on the cross trainer in Romaleos isn’t okay.
  • Spare pants – On rare occasions you may wee or, as I’ve seen most recently in my gym, even shit yourself.
  • Smelling salts – A magic jar of egg farts that seems to get you ready for the big lifts. My salts only come out on huge max out sessions and during competition – thus not essential for every day.
  • Tape – Zinc oxide tape/K-tape – To cover you thumbs if that is your preference or save the rest of your session if you get a hand tear or shin burn.

Oh, and of course pink chalk is an essential. I’ve missed that one off.

 

 

4 comments

  1. What kind of things do you write in your training diary? Would be interested to see a template, so I can see some of the useful things that lifters write.. As this is one thing I’m aiming to improve on. Thanks. Jamie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Jamie, Everyone approaches diaries differently. You have to find your own voice with what you find useful. Personally I write in my program i have set, then add little side notes about how i felt or cues i used on that day. I also outline my warm up sets and reps for the day. I add my BW when its been measured. I like having a hard copy written down and its nice not to look at a phone for an change. I hope this helps. We will do a post about it again soon. MiniBig

      Like

Leave a Reply

