MiniBIGLifts Test Kitchen: Buckwheat Pancakes

Food matters to weightlifters, and not just in the hour after a weigh-in. I thought I would start off a new feature where I test a recipe or share something I personally eat on a weekly basis. We’re calling it the MiniBIGLifts Test Kitchen.

As a performance athlete and bit of a foodie, I really do want my food to be both delicious and good for me. I always see these ‘clean’ or ‘healthy’ meal alternatives, and while some of them are excellent, some taste like cardboard or wet socks. I’m no nutritionist, but I can give you an honest opinion of whether a recipe is worth saving or if it’s just funky-tasting shit that should go straight in the bin.

The first entry in this new series will start with the most important meal of the day: breakfast, of course!

Recipe: Buckwheat pancakes

  • 30 g buckwheat flour
  • 1 medium egg
  • 30 ml milk
  • 1/3 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 cal cooking oil spray
  • (dash of cinnamon if you are feeling frisky)

Directions:

  • Mix dry ingredients into a bowl.
  • Crack in the egg.
  • Splash in the milk.
  • Whisk until all mixed. The batter should be thick!

Heat your pan on high. When a drop of water thrown on the pan runs around a bit before evaporating, turn the pan down to a medium high heat and spray in a couple squirts of low calorie cooking oil. (I find using this kind of spray covers the pan with a thin layer of oil with no excess. This makes flipping the pancakes easier and safer!).

Pour in a couple of teaspoons worth of batter. When bubbles appear all over the pancake surface, flip it, let it cook for another minute or so, then remove to a warm plate while you make the rest.

DSC_2060.JPG

Repeat until you run out of batter. I generally get 4 pancakes out of the above recipe. I rely on these as a go-to carb, so I usually upscale and make 5 days’ worth. Eat the first two days’ worth fresh and freeze the rest to eat during the week.

Recommended serving:

Usually I eat these with a side of scrambled eggs or an omelette to give the meal a hearty helping of protein.

On top, I like sugar-free syrups. My personal favourite after trying a large range is Walden Farms pancake syrup. Some sugar free syrups (muscle food and Myprotein ones) have the consistency of boogies and sometimes a weird after taste.

But if that’s not your jam, a small dash of honey goes a long way. Add fruits like thinly cut up strawberries or blueberries to the batter for a lovely fruity fresh touch.

On the savoury side, these are also great with smoked salmon and cream cheese or avocado and cottage cheese!

Review:

These make a wonderful and filling alternative to wheat flour based pancakes. As a sufferer from IBS I stay clear of gluten when I can as I do find it gives me very antisocial farts. I am not a fan of the gluten-free kick, however with a sister who is actually wheat intolerant, it’s great to find and try good alternatives that suit individual needs. This recipe is fabulous and not at all grainy, dry or bitter like some wheat alternatives. It is also easy to make with no weird processes or need of kitchen machines.

Rating: 8/10

Nutritional information:

  • Calories: 245
  • Protein: 13 g
  • Fat: 8 g
  • Carbohydrate: 31 g

What’s my next recipe going to be? Please let me know if you have anything you think I should try in the comments!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

