MiniBIGLifts Test Kitchen: Buffalo Cauliflower

So this week I have been craving a bit of dirty, fatty, pub-grub style food and I stumbled across buffalo cauliflower while watching a fitness blogger on YouTube. I love hot sauce and I tolerate vegetables so this sounded ace.

For the sake of my macros, I changed the recipe slightly. Mainly by removing the block of butter called for in the original recipe. So this is pretty basic.

Recipe: Buffalo Cauliflower

Directions

  • Cut up the head of the cauliflower into mouth size of double bite sized pieces
  • Boil until al dente
  • Drain and place in a bowl
  • Add half a bottle of franks hot wing buffalo sauce
  • Mix (use spoons; it will be hot)
  • Place on baking tray and bake for 10 mins at 180 degrees

Recommended Serving:

I ate these bites with chicken for a week. I usually had to add more Frank’s sauce; I’m not sure if this is a sign that I have a problem, or that the cauliflower bites were seriously lacking in flavour. I suggest you actually make them and try yourself and adjust the spice.

They were quick and easy to do, taking around 2o minutes to prep and cook while I made a tonne of other stuff in the oven at the same time. I generally like baking vegetables like broccoli and cauliflower as I do think it adds more flavour, so these were on par with that.

Screen Shot 2016-05-24 at 10.41.58.png

If I were to change the recipe around at all, I would likely add cracked pepper and maybe a touch of smoked paprika. Then I would bake them until the edges charred slightly, giving a more BBQ effect to the bites.

No way do these replace chicken wings, but are a wonderful way to jazz up some veg for the week. They meal-prepped very well and I ate these for about 4 days.

Review:

Rating: 6/10

Nutritional information:

per one average sized cauliflower (approx. 400g)

  • Calories: 154
  • Protein: 10
  • Fat: 1
  • Carbohydrate: 26

 

Leave a Reply

