The ‘C’ Bomb, by Charlie Fouracres

Our latest Guest Writer is Charlie Fouracres, author of the blog Chats With Mrs F.  She trains at Crossfit Colchester and Essex Weightlifting Club. Last year, she was diagnosed with anaplastic large cell lymphoma at the age of 29. She’s kept training and has shared with us this lovely motivational piece to help you survive whatever bombs life throws at you.

Cancer.

Bomb.

One of the most destructive diseases. A disease that creeps in and turns worlds upside down. A disease that explodes through families and takes our loved ones. A disease that ticks like a bomb before shattering lives. A disease that this time, picked the wrong girl!

When I was diagnosed with cancer in August 2015 I decided there and then that I had two choices. I could wallow in self-pity and let the cancer dictate my life, or I could stand up tall and show cancer exactly who was in control of my body.

I made my decision. I was going to fight! I was going to fight for my right to live, I was going to fight for my right to health. I was going to fight for my body. I was going to fight cancer!

13517945_1734113056863156_391807067_o

I have spent the last ten months training for this fight as hard as my body would let me. I have been fighting every day. Fighting for one last rep, fighting for one more kilogram on the bar, fighting for PBs, fighting with my coaches over how many burpees they have programmed!

What makes my fight any more special than yours? Nothing! We all have a fight. We all have that intrinsic motivation to push ourselves to the next level. We all have that trigger inside us that suddenly gets pulled and we can’t stop it. You have to find that trigger, tune into it, listen to it and channel it.

battle

Your fight might be small, it might be huge, it may be unachievable in your eyes. But you have to give yourself the opportunity to try fighting. It might be a new 1RM squat, it might be your first pull-up, it might be nailing handstand walks.

Or it might be as something as simple as just getting down the gym three times a week. Put those boxing gloves on and starting fighting for the life that you deserve. You got this, girl! 💗

2 comments

  1. Charlie fought cancer and won. Charlie stayed positive. Charlie is a fantastic mum, wife and friend. Charlie is a fighter, be like Charlie xxx 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

